My friend, Vicky Chen, commented on October 27 that it is two years since I started this blog. A sobering thought.

It has been a while since I updated the blog. Today, my visiting nurse measured all the lesions (the length and width), and she does this weekly. I therefore wanted to wait until today so that I could update you on these measurements. (The nurse changes four lesions every second day and another lesion daily. I have about five other lesions which do not need bandages.)

All of the lesions are larger now since I began the treatment on October 4. The increase in size is not great, though it is significant nevertheless. There seems to be some other possible signs of healing (the lesions are less deep), but the news from the nurse today is not that which I wanted to hear.

The biblical reading from today’s lectionary is from Romans 8: “For creation waits with eager longing for the revealing of the children of God; . . . We know that the whole creation has been groaning in labour pains until now;. . .For in hope we were saved. Now hope which is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what is seen? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.” This reading brings us back to the beginning of the blog two years ago. I still hope in that which is not seen. I have to admit I lack the patience.

This is my break week, when I do not have a treatment. I had three treatments (beginning Oct. 4), followed by a week with no treatment. Then, I start the regime again beginning this Friday. Last week, I experienced some side effects from the Oct. 18 treatment. I am feeling better this week though.

Last week I also had some visitors, which was great and helped me get through the side effects. My mother and sister, Irene, came here on Oct 20 and left on October 26. My nephew, Matthias Brennan, came here on October 23, and his brother, Braeden, came on October 25. They returned together to Ottawa early on October 28. It was simply great to see all of them and eased the passing of time, as well as the severity of the side effects.

I have a treatment this coming Friday. I have some thoughts to sort through over the next while, but will try to do so with hope and courage. Any decisions will not be made alone.

Prayer is needed more than ever, now. I know that this is my perpetual anthem. I sincerely thank you again, for all the support which I am receiving from you. It stirs the heart.

