I returned back to Guelph from PEI late Monday evening. I had a wonderful time. I just had to be there! Our family cottage in Cascumpec (the western end of the Island) is among five owned by relatives, so it is a great gathering spot for the family. There were always a large amount of people around. I liked this very much. I did not venture far from our cottage, and this seemed okay. While I was there, I received nursing care from my sister Sheila, who visited from Cape Breton Island for about five days, and from my two cousins, Dorothy Ellsworth and Eileen O’Halloran. My trip to PEI would have been impossible without their help.

My physical condition is worse. What was once the one remaining lesion is much larger, and the other lesion has returned. Four other lesions have appeared. I am taking much stronger medication for pain. Last week, I had two biopsies and a CT scan done. I will be seeing my doctor on Friday, September 6, and we will discuss the next steps then. It will likely mean another fall of treatment with a new chemotherapy drug. I may also have some radiation.

Of course, all this means that the 6 days of chemotherapy which preceded and necessitated the stem cell transplant on June 19th was ineffective. I knew that this was a great possibility, but I had hoped for something quite different. I have to admit that I am deeply disappointed. Yet, I must go forward, and I am thankful that I have not run out of options yet. This will be my third fall of treatment.

This month is a quiet one for our Jesuit community. Loyola House is not giving any retreats in September, so some of my confreres are doing their own retreat and taking some holidays at this time. Artur Suski, a Jesuit scholastic living here, returns this week from his holidays and retreat time to do part-time chaplaincy at the university. I have eleven nieces and nephews travelling to university this weekend. The summer seems to be coming to an end. The seasonal rhythms continue.

