Lorraine and Terri

Lorraine and Terri; below Terri and her husband Vince, 1981.

Terri and her husband, Vince; 1981

Later today, I receive my third treatment. For the past few days, I have been at my strongest. Overall, this past week was a good week and it was active enough.

On Friday evening, we held our “dinner for ten” at the Red House. This is an item which our Jesuit community offered at the silent auction of our fundraising dinner in September. Katherine Bergman, the new president of St. Jerome’s University in Waterloo, bought the meal, so we entertained her and her nine guests. The meal was actually made by four friends who offered to help: Marie Gazzola, Christine Clementi, Cathy Dunn and Jeanne Lovelock.

On Saturday two friends, with whom I studied horticulture long ago, visited. I reconnected with Lorraine a few years ago. I have not seen Terri since I was in the novitiate – 1981 or so. It was great to see both of them. A lot has happened in our lives since our university years. I have to admit, I went down memory lane a bit.

We have our first real snow of the season. The ground is just lightly covered with the white stuff. I always like the first snow as it brightens up an otherwise dreary month. Sunday I went for a long walk over to Guelph Lake. As I walked there was a fine snow falling. It was beautiful.

Yesterday I put boughs over the arbour, wanting to take advantage of my energy while I have it. It is a bit early for Christmas, but we are ready now. The Red House has our annual open house this Sunday, the first Sunday of Advent. So, Christmas must be on its way. (All are invited to the open house.)

I know that my energy will change very soon as I go through the cycle again. What a difference a few days can make.

