On Tuesday, I will receive the first treatment of chemo. It has been a long wait. I am realizing that waiting for the chemo to start is worse than receiving it! I begin with a mixture of feelings – relief, dread, vulnerability, resignation and confidence that this too will be a part of the spiritual journey.

In the meantime, I have been appreciating this time to do things that I would not be able to do with the chemo drugs in me. The gardening is done. Yesterday I enjoyed an 80th birthday celebration with family. Last Thanksgiving weekend I had three dinners! I have also been enjoying the fall colours which seem to be even brighter this year.

Over the past ten days, I heard of three more people who have been diagnosed with cancer. I certainly have many people to be in solidarity with.

