Five Months Now

Yesterday marked five months since I received the diagnosis of cancer. The first lesion actually appeared last March, so I have had this for almost a year.

I had a great weekend at the organic agriculture conference. Miriam MacGillis, of Genesis Farm, gave two presentations as well as a presentation at Loyola House on Thursday night. She stayed at our Jesuit community house as well. We had a great visit. As I listened to her at the conference, I realized that it had been my dream for a few years that there be a discussion such as this at the key-note event – placing our work in organic agriculture within the context of an interconnection with a sacred creation.   Her presentations there and the one at Loyola House were well received. I spent part of Friday, Saturday and Sunday at the conference. I had great conversations. I tried to pace myself, and was pleasantly surprised at how well I stood up. That was encouraging.

Last week I received another lesion, this time on my arm. So, it is clear that there are more cancer cells roaming around in my body! I am not sure at this point about how this will be treated. I see the doctor this Thursday.

In the midst of a snow storm on Saturday, we buried Bill Addley at our Jesuit cemetery at the centre. A large group of people came from Toronto for the burial, a statement of the number of lives he touched. It was a sad afternoon.

Because of the snow received over the weekend, it is looking like winter again. It is a beautiful wintery day today. The forecast is for more of the warm weather to continue though. It is a strange winter.  Do we need to doubt any more that we are in the midst of a major climate change? – more evidence of the fact that Earth also has cancer. Yet there is beauty in the midst of this too.

Miriam MacGillis

