Farm community visitors, Barbara Zimmermann of Australia and Weesa Blair of Quebec City with Gracie.

I am in-between treatments. My next treatment is November 28th, the latest one was November 7th. As with the second treatment, there have been no major problems. I had a bit of a low energy week. However, Cecilia Meiering gave me a Therapeutic Tough session on Wednesday, and I was surprised by how much my energy was restored. It is just one more of the many gifts that Cecilia has! My lesions are not changing (healing) much, so I may have to have a different regime of chemo treatment next time.

This morning in prayer, I was filled with gratitude for the journey that I am on. It really is a time for me to step back. People (you) have been so kind and supportive. I have had many visitors. This past week my two sisters, Irene and Norma, were here from PEI. They were joined by my Cape Breton brother-in-law, Ron Gillis, for one of the days. This was his SECOND visit. Not bad for someone not from the right Island. The previous three weekends, I had visits from friends with whom I lived at the farm community (1984-86) and from Wikwemikong. I continue to receive various e-mails and notes.

A friend from the US, also living with cancer, referred to this support as the “Compassionate Curve of the Universe, that ‘Field of Compassion’ where we are so loved and cared for.” Yes, it feels like that – again, I feel I am being held by the Universe. It is so easy to experience the interconnection of all beings across the continents.

I have been reading a book which has reminded me that this interconnectivity can have negative consequences as well.  Anti-cancer by David Servan-Schreiber was given to me by a friend who is a cancer survivor. Servan-Schreiber is a MD and brain researcher and had a brain tumor at 31 (while he was a researcher). He admits that the causes of cancer are complex, but points to influences not often seen by the medical scientific field, such as the health of our planet and the mind-body connection. Arguing that you cannot be healthy on a sick planet, he reminded me that the polar bear, farthest removed from Western civilization but on top of the food chain, is the most contaminated by toxic chemicals to the point that their immune system and reproductive capacities are threatened. Humans, located not in the immediate environment of the bears but thousands of miles even continents away, pollute waters that eventually end up in the sea. Severn-Schreiber also states that cancer is a rich person’s disease, and traces our stressful Western lifestyle to the cause of cancer – eating food from an industrial food system, our exposure to a large amounts chemical products, and eating large quantities of highly refined sugar. He lists foods that would provide for a healthier lifestyle and encourages spiritual practices such as meditation and prayer.

The news these weeks seemed to be preoccupied by the economy, and politicians’ efforts to address its deterioration. I understand the concern. We are affected by the economy which is so interlinked around the world (another aspect of interconnectivity). Yet, I dream of the day when all levels of our governments will give as much energy and concern to healing the environment. Nevertheless, I know that I do not have to wait for government to act for me to act. Two other items have also been grabbing attention of the media – opposition to the tar sands oil pipe line, and Occupy Wall Street. I find hope for our planet in these movements. Another item of interest: The polar bear was listed this past week as a “species of concern” under the Species at Risk Act. Even though this does not require our government to take any meaningful steps to protect the bears, this is a step in the right direction. Another small reason for hope. If we alter our lifestyle reducing our dependence on fossil fuels, we would not need the tar sands oil and at the same time we would contribute to easing the problem of climate change which is robbing the polar bears of their habitat. We would also be eating better and there would be less cancer. Changing our lifestyle is the hard part, but the positive results are interconnected as well!

“Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what is seen? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.” (Rom. 8:24-25)

